Name Saddleworth Concerts Society Category Saddleworth Concerts Society



Victoria Quartet & Richard Simpson, oboe

Beethoven: String Trio in C minor Op. 9 No. 3
Lennox Berkeley: Oboe Quartet Op. 70
Ravel: Sonata for violin and cello (1922)
Mozart: Oboe Quartet in F major K. 370

The Victoria String Quartet unites some of the most experienced chamber musicians in the UK: All four have performed together in different ensembles for many years, and between them can boast an impressive pedigree: The Chilingirian Quartet, The Sorrel Quartet and Psappha Ensemble, naming just a few.

They are thrilled to join together in their new formation to explore and perform the rich and varied string quartet repertoire. The Victoria String Quartet is based in Manchester and all four teach at the Royal Northern College of Music and give masterclasses both in the UK and internationally.

Richard Simpson is principal oboe of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Professor at the Guildhall School of Music. After his studies at the Royal College of Music with Sydney Sutcliffe, he was appointed principal oboe of the BBC Symphony Orchestra, a post he held for only one year when he was invited to be principal oboe of the Hallé Orchestra. He remained for 18 years with the Hallé Orchestra, performing many times as a soloist.

Passionate about chamber music, Richard Simpson has been invited to perform at many European festivals. Together with his wife, Janet and
with Michael Cox, the principal flute of the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Richard Simpson has established the “Syrinx Trio”.

In 1991, he returned to the BBC Symphony Orchestra as principal oboe and has performed many times as a soloist both live and on recordings.

Book now